The Pursuit of Life

Got Faith?

Romans 7:14-19

What are you pursuing in life?  Are you seeking to truly know the Lord… or is this an area that needs greater priority in your life?  Are you pursuing your desires or God’s desires?  God’s greatest desire is for you to know Him, but to know Him yourself is to dive into His Word.

For me — I sometimes make decisions because of what I desire, not what the Lord desires.  At times, I don’t think ahead of the consequences.  So what’s the issue?   I lack loyalty in the Lord and His Word.

What I am learning is desires, motives, attitudes, words and actions are influenced by our perception of God.  When you truly know the Lord, you will respond to life in an entirely different way!

As Paul said in Romans, chapter 7, 14 For we know that the Law is spiritual, but I am of flesh, sold into bondage to sin. 15 For what I am doing, I do not understand; for I am not practicing what I would like to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate. 16 But if I do the very thing I do not want to do, I agree with the Law, confessing that the Law is good. 17 So now, no longer am I the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me.  18 For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh; for the willing is present in me, but the doing of the good is not. 19 For the good that I want, I do not do, but I practice the very evil that I do not want.”

The struggles that Paul shared with us are the same struggles we go through today.  He says he decides one way and acts another, doing the things he despises.  – Oh boy!  Do I understand what he’s saying!

Only a Christian who is disciplined in the Word of God can rest in the Lord.  A lazy, undisciplined Christian cannot do so; he falls apart at the seams when trials strike.  The believer who is “like a tree planted by the rivers of water” (Psalms 1:3) is the one who meditates in the law of God (v.2); his thoughts turn to the word of God like magnet on a refrigerator!

What choices are you facing?   No matter your situation, you can turn to Jesus.  I encourage you to follow Jesus…. to choose his way, not yours…to choose to receive His love…. to trust Him.

Proverbs 19:18:  18 “If people can’t see what God is doing, they stumble all over themselves; But when they attend to what he reveals, they are most blessed.

 

Inspired by God, written by KG

Leave a Reply

