Patience – Waiting for God’s Lead

Psalm 27:14 “Wait on the Lord, be of good courage and He shall strengthen your heart. Wait, I say, on the Lord!”

How often do we find ourselves rushing into a decision? Do you catch yourself thinking if you don’t act quickly enough that an opportunity is missed? Do you ask yourself, “What am I waiting for? Just do it.” but don’t think of the implications or ramifications that will follow? Do you sincerely ask yourself, “If I make this decision, what will happen to my family? My job? Will this bring me closer to the Lord?” God will never tell us to do anything that would set us back spiritually.

Let’s encourage each other to wait on the Lord with patience, perseverance and fervent prayer. To wait on the Lord is to be obedient. To demonstrate confident expectation. To wait upon the Lord takes courage and trust. To hope in Him is to wait for His timing and His action. God acts on behalf of those who wait for Him. In Isaiah 64:4 “For since the beginning of the world men have not heard nor perceived by the ear, nor has the eye seen any God besides You who acts for the one who waits for Him.” His timing means having all the details in the proper places. Even though we want things to happen now, it may not be the right time or it may not be the right choice for us. He has our future in mind and He knows what’s best for us.

Since we never know what lies ahead, we may ask “What if I mess up? What if I get off track?” God is aware of our human nature. He is a God of second chances and He knows we will make mistakes. If we get off track, re-focus your attention on Him rather than your circumstances. He can guide us in the right direction and away from the traps of self-effort. Often, He may ask us to take baby steps and wait on further instructions.

In Acts 9, do you think God told Saul, “Saul, I am going to make you the greatest missionary for the Christian faith in the history of mankind.” No, in Acts 9:6, Saul was “…trembling and astonished, said “Lord, what do You want me to do?” Then the Lord said to him, “arise and go into the city, and you will be told what you must do.” From there, the Lord led Paul to Damascus and other different cities and countries, using him every step of the way to spread the gospel.

As some of you may know, my decision to move back to the East Coast in the spring of 2008 was difficult. I was unsure if this move was part of God’s plan for me or not. Seeking God’s direction through prayer, consultation with other Christian friends and searching the scripture, gave me that inner peace that I was looking for. “and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding”, Philippians 4:7. Since then, the Lord have already blessed me with so much. Although I don’t know the next step, I will be obedient and wait as God knows exactly how to put us, where He wants us and when He wants us – in His timing!

Psalms 62:5 “My soul, wait silently for God alone, for my expectation is from Him.”

Discovering God’s will doesn’t happen overnight. Be faithful while you wait for God’s call.  He will guide us and direct us on the path we must take. If we are in tune with Him, we can trust that He will reveal His plan for our lives. Not only does this involve praying and asking God for direction, but also, listening to Him and meditating on His Word.

Proverbs 8:34 “Blessed is the man who listens to me, watching daily at my gates, waiting at the posts of my doors.”

Begin asking God what He would have you do next. Listen to Him with the understanding that not all answers will come at once. Looking at our circumstances can be discouraging. The devil is good at getting our eyes off the Lord. We need to get our eyes back on the Lord. Ask for patience and wait quietly. Through His grace, you can confidently walk in the will of God.

Inspired by God, written by KG

Leave a Reply

